Gluten Free Flour 101
Gluten Free Flour 101 is a quick guide to help you make the transition to being gluten free by knowing most of the varieties of gluten free flour. So, there is no need to think about giving up that pizza or even cupcakes. Most of the flour listed below could be used to make anything that previously had gluten in it! And for your convenience, I have created a free Gluten Free Flour printable, so you can always have it on hand!! 🙂
What is Gluten
First of all, gluten is a general term for the proteins found in wheat. The main function of gluten is to help foods keep their structure, like a glue. In fact, the word “gluten” comes from the Latin gluten which means “glue”.
Furthermore, this protein is present NOT ONLY in wheat, but also in various kinds of food and non-food. Gluten is present in beer, soy sauce, ice cream, ketchup, and even in cosmetics and hair products.
In addition, some people can’t include gluten in their diet for different reasons. One reason is having Celiac disease. Another reason is non-celiac wheat sensitivity.
If you’re one of those looking for flour alternatives, then you’ll benefit from the compilation below. Click HERE to print this list and use as a reference.
Finally, here are the gluten-free flours which you can use in varied applications in your kitchen:
A,B,C’s Types of Gluten Free Flour
- Acorn flour – made from ground acorns
- Almond flour – made from ground almonds
- Amaranth flour – made from the seed of the amaranth plan
- Arrowroot flour – made from the root of the arrowroot plant
- Banana flour – made from dried, unripe green bananas
- Brown rice flour – made from unpolished brown rice
- Buckwheat flour – made from the small seeds of the buckwheat plant
- Chestnut flour – made from ground chestnuts
- Chia flour – made from ground chia seeds
- Chickpea flour – made from ground chickpeas. This is the same as garbanzo flour.
- Chuño flour – made from free-dried potatoes
- Coconut flour – made from dried, defatted coconut meat
- Coffee flour – made from milled discarded cherry fruit
- Corn flour – made from milled maize. This is the white, starch part of maize flour so it’s actually the same as cornstarch.
- Cornmeal –made from dried maize, and is considered a coarse maize flour. This is the same as polenta.
- Glutinous rice flour – made from ground sticky rice
- Hemp flour – made from ground hemp seeds
- Lupin flour – made from ground lupin beans
- Maize flour – made from ground maize, and can be fine or coarse (polenta)
- Mesquite flour – made from dried, ground pods of the mesquite tree
- Millet flour – made from ground millet grains
- Pea flour – made from pulverized, ground yellow field peas. This is the same as peasemeal.
- Peanut flour – made from shelled, cooked peanuts.
- Potato flour – made from whole potatoes. Do not confuse with potato starch flour.
- Potato starch flour – made from only the starch of the potatoes
- Quinoa flour – made from ground seeds of the quinoa plant
- Sorghum flour – made from ground sorghum grain
- Soya flour – made from ground roasted yellow soya beans
- Tapioca flour – made from ground root of the cassava plant. This is the same as cassava flour.
- Teff flour – made from the whole grain teff, an ancient East African cereal grass
- White rice flour – made from polished white rice
Gluten Free List
By no means is this list exhaustive, but it should cover most of the gluten-free flours out there in the market. Take time to discover and try them out for yourself. Don’t forget to check with your doctor.
Again, click HERE to download the Gluten Free List!